Brum Gay Village under threat!

Brum Gay Village under threat!
Local News
Posted on 17 Dec 2018

Prominent members of Birmingham’s Gay Community are set to campaign against a new residential development on the Amusement 13 (former DV8) site when plans are brought before Birmingham City Council’s planning committee on Thursday 20th December.


Objectors to the most recent planning application argue plans could threaten the future of LGBTQ+ spaces and businesses in the city’s Gay Village.

The planning application is for the demolition of existing buildings including Amusement 13 (formally DV8) providing 116 new residential apartments in a 9-12 storey building.


Birmingham’s Gay Community have issued a call for community members to challenge these plans and to emphasise the area's historical significance and its contribution to community groups and local organisations, They are encouraging people to lobby the planning committee councillors by email (see below) and to turn out in force and ‘pack out’ the public gallery at the Planning Meeting at the Council House in Victoria Square at 11am on Thursday 20 December.

 


HOW YOU CAN LOBBY AGAINST THESE PLANS:

BY EMAIL:


Email your objections, quoting planning reference number 2018/03004/PA demanding the planning application be refused to the following planning committee councillors: 

Safia.Akhtar@birmingham.gov.uk 


Mohammed.Azim@birmingham.gov.uk

Bob.Beauchamp@birmingham.gov.uk


Maureen.Cornish@birmingham.gov.uk

Mohammed.Fazal@birmingham.gov.uk


Peter.Griffiths@birmingham.gov.uk

Adam.Higgs@birmingham.gov.uk


Julie.Johnson@birmingham.gov.uk

Keith.Linnecor@birmingham.gov.uk


Karen.McCarthy@birmingham.gov.uk

Saddak.Miah@birmingham.gov.uk


Gareth.Moore@birmingham.gov.uk

Lou.Robson@birmingham.gov.uk


Lucy.Seymour-Smith@birmingham.gov.uk

Mike.Ward@birmingham.gov.uk


You should emphasise how important Gay Village safe space is, it’s historical significance, its contribution to community groups and organisations. 

Don’t delay, send your emails TODAY!


 

IN PERSON:


Attend the public gallery of the planning committee meeting at the Council House in Victoria Square, at 11am on Thursday 20 December.

undefined


 

Recent visitors to Hurst Street and the surrounding areas within the Southside district will have noticed that it is currently subject to major residential development. Car parks within close proximity to well known LGBTQ+ businesses have been purchased by property developers for demolition and development in to new residential apartment blocks.


Lawrence Barton, Festival Director of Birmingham Pride, commented “Land currently occupied by LGBTQ+ businesses have already been recommended for planning permission to Birmingham City Council despite the Gay Community’s objections and concerns! This is our last chance to stop  further development and safeguard our community! But we must act now!”

He added, “The threat of noise complaints and the loss of these venues, support groups and other businesses threatens our community and our safe space. This is not a campaign to fight causes for licensed premises alone; progress and change is good if it’s considered, sympathetic to people’s needs and takes in to consideration the needs of all of the communities that use this area.”


The LGBTQ+ community have used the area around Hurst Street for in excess of 50 years and is widely considered a safe space, and the lifeblood and heart of the gay community and campaigners vow that the Gay Community should refuse to be marginalised or pushed out.

undefined

HAVE YOUR SAY

Tell us what you think below...

Join our Newsletter today!

More from Local News...

Most Popular Stories

  • Season One tour of RuPaul’s Drag Race UK heading for Birmingham News

    Season One tour of RuPaul’s Drag Race UK heading for Birmingham

    More
  • Equality lessons row: Protests to restart outside Anderton Park primary school tomorrow News

    Equality lessons row: Protests to restart outside Anderton Park primary school tomorrow

    More
  • Equality lessons row: LGBT school protest ruling to be challenged in high court News

    Equality lessons row: LGBT school protest ruling to be challenged in high court

    More
  • Equality lessons row: Midlands school to trial controversial LGBT-relationships material News

    Equality lessons row: Midlands school to trial controversial LGBT-relationships material

    More
  • It’s back! Wolverhampton’s Pride festival makes a welcome return next month News

    It’s back! Wolverhampton’s Pride festival makes a welcome return next month

    More
  • Fans in Dreamland! Pet Shop Boys to bring their greatest hits tour to Birmingham in 2020 News

    Fans in Dreamland! Pet Shop Boys to bring their greatest hits tour to Birmingham in 2020

    More
  • Equality lessons row: Anderton Park school protesters met with songs of love News

    Equality lessons row: Anderton Park school protesters met with songs of love

    More